80404 - ECHO/PULSE - Archiving a notebook using Echo Desktop

How do I archive a notebook from my Echo or Pulse smartpen using Echo Desktop?

Archiving will allow you to use your smartpen with a new notebook that has the same name and style as the notebook you have already used

You can delete archived notebook pages and archived notebooks from Echo Desktop by following the instructions below.

NOTE: If you decide to archive a notebook that has blank pages remaining, you can still write in the physical notebook even after it has been archived (you do not need to discard it). When you connect your smartpen to transfer your new notes, that notebook will re-appear in the active notebook section of Echo Desktop, and the additional pages you wrote on will appear as thumbnails when the active notebook is selected.

IMPORTANT: Archiving a notebook deletes your notes (ink data) and audio from your smartpen.  Because of this, your smartpen will no longer interact with the physical Livescribe dot paper product that you archived.  That is, when you tap the notes in your archived physical notebook, the smartpen will not play back any audio.

Archiving Notebooks

To archive a notebook:

  1. Open Echo Desktop.
  2. Dock the smartpen you are removing the notebook from.  NOTE:  You must dock the smartpen that contains the notebook in order for the archive option to be available for that notebook.
  3. After any new notes or sessions finish transferring click the notebook you want to archive from the notebook list in the left Navigation window.
  4. Choose "File > Archive Notebook…"
  5. Windows users - when prompted with "You are about to archive '<notebook name>'." click "OK" to confirm the archive operation, otherwise click "Cancel". Windows and Mac users - When prompted with the archive warning message, click "Archive" if you still want to archive the notebook.  Otherwise click "Cancel".
  6. Once Echo Desktop finishes the archive you will see the archived notebook in your "Library" tab in an "Archived Notebooks" group (Windows) / under your smartpen name labeled as "[Archived] <notebook name>" (Mac).

Deleting Archived Notebooks and Pages

You can delete an archived notebook or selectively delete its pages.

IMPORTANT: Deleting an archived notebook or archived pages removes the following:

  • Pages (and optionally audio) for that notebook entirely
  • Associated pages from Custom Notebooks (Custom Notebooks are not copies, but instead are shortcuts to the source pages of an active or archived notebook).  

To delete an archived notebook:

  1. Select an Archived Notebook from the notebook list in the left Navigation window.  
  2. Choose "File > Delete Notebook..."
  3. Click "Yes" (Windows) / "Delete" (Mac) to confirm the deletion.  NOTE: Windows users - If there is audio associated, at the prompt choose if you also want to delete the notebook's audio.  If you do then click Yes to confirm the deletion.  Mac users - There is no option to retain the audio.  Once the notebook is deleted the audio will be deleted as well.

To delete archived notebook pages:

  1. Select an Archived Notebook from the notebook list in the left Navigation window.  
  2. Select one or more page to be deleted.  You can use the "Ctrl" and "Shift" (Windows) / "command" (Mac) keys to multi-select.
  3. Choose "File > Delete Page(s)" (Windows) / hold the "control" key down, click on a selected page, and select "Delete" (Mac).
  4. Click "Yes" (Windows) / "Delete" (Mac) to confirm the deletion.
  5. If there is audio associated, at the prompt choose if you also want to delete the notebook's audio.  If you do then click "Yes" (Windows) / "Delete" (Mac) to confirm the deletion.

If you have a problem archiving your notebook please let us know.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us